Legal Question in Family Law in New York

My spouse and I have beenapart,but,not divorced yet.I am working,my spouse is on disability. I have 1 child with me.My spouse has our other child. I pay support according to NYS guidelines for the child with him,minus medical,dental and phone costs which I pay 100% for our children. I feel since I have 1 child and my spouse the other child,it should be "a wash" and I do not have to continue to give support money since my spouse does not give me any money for the child I have in custody. Our child that is with me also has several medical bills that my spouse does not give money for. Can you please advise if I am correct or not that I feel I should not have t pay support money? Thank you.

Asked on 11/17/12, 3:27 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jordan Trager Wisselman, Harounian & Associates, P.C.

You will each have to pay 17% of your adjusted gross income to the other, in addition to a pro rated amount of the children's out-of-pocket health related expenses according to your respective incomes.

Read more
Answered on 11/19/12, 6:59 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York