Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in North Carolina

I am a carpet cleaner in NC (sole proprietor) who received a bad check from a customer a few years ago. (Iredell County, I am in Mecklenburg County) What is the statute of limitations to file? Thanks.

Asked on 5/01/20, 11:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lynn Coleman Attorney-Mediator

The criminal statute of limitation to press charges is 2 years. To make a civil complaint for money owed, it would be three years.

Read more
Answered on 5/01/20, 12:52 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in North Carolina