Legal Question in Construction Law in Texas

Roofer came out after hail damage to my roof. He did not do any money talk. Just told me he would work with me and my insurance check. I signed (he didn't) a paper that said if insurance did not approve then the contract was null and void. At the bottom the paper also said if I chose to go with another roofer i would be charge 20%. The roofer met my insurance adjuster at my house. The check came with itemized list of what needed to be done to roof. My significant other called the roofer and asked for an estimate itemized listing also --just to compare apples to apples. The roofer got offended and they got in a disagreement. My significant other told him he could not have our business and hired another roofer. Now we have received a certified letter stating we will be sued the 20%. Can they do this? He had not done any work!

Asked on 8/20/10, 12:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

Respond to the demand letter (the one that says you'll be sued for the 20%) and tell them what you told me. It came from an out-of-town lawyer, I bet.

And then sit back and wait. I'd bet you $10 they won't file suit.

Read more
Answered on 8/26/10, 3:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Texas