Legal Question in Workers Comp in Texas

I was let go of my job that I've had for 8 years this Tuesday. They offered me a severnce package. My question to you is, can I accept this severence package and still be eligible for unemplyment benefits? On the letter, it states that"you agree to to fully release the company the their respective current and former parent companies, subsidiaries, and other affiliated companies as well as any of their respecitice current and former insurers" Could this mean that they would deny my unemployment benefits?? I want to make sure I do everything correct. Please help...

Asked on 1/25/13, 7:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Donald McLeaish McLeaish&Associates;, P.C.

IMHO you would be entitled to u.emp benefits...BUT suggest yu call TWC and speak to them but mainly that is a waiver of rt to sue for age/sex/race etc discrimination

Read more
Answered on 1/25/13, 8:12 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Workers' Compensation Law questions and answers in Texas