Legal Question in Intellectual Property in Utah

Quoting copywrited melodies?

I wrote a children's opera with a group of children and one of the characters was Yoda. The music and lyrics were original, but I quoted the main Star Wars theme song as an introduction to his part. This was performed only for family, so that was fine. Now I'm writing a book and want to include the opera, and I'm wondering if I need to take the melody out if I'm only quoting three measures, it's obvious where it came from, and the accompaniment of the melody is original? Do I need to take Yoda out of the opera altogether? Thank you!

Asked on 7/09/08, 3:04 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.

Re: Quoting copywrited melodies?

You may include it in your book, but you must made a notation and reference the owner of the copyright. This can be by footnote or endnote.

Read more
Answered on 7/09/08, 5:11 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in Utah