Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

I defaulted on my Payday advance about 5 years ago. I forgot I owned it. it was 300 dollars. I recently started received email noticed that they have proceed to press charges and lock me up. I called the collection agent and was told I owe about 1,000 dollars. I am trying to make arrangements with them. I am not getting letters only through email and is name is Mr. Dolson. Can let lock me up. What alternatives do I have

Asked on 10/16/17, 7:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.

This is fraudulent. They can't lock you up for nonpayment. Most payday loans are illegal in VA to begin with. They are committing a crime by threatening to jail you for nonpayment.

Read more
Answered on 10/17/17, 3:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia