Legal Question in Immigration Law in Washington

I got my US Green card in GC in 2007 and applied for citizenship in May 2015 and just heard back yesterday. It was denied due to disrupted continuous residence. In the last 5 years from my application day (May 2015) I had one trip in May 2011 for 11 months and I returned to the US on July 12th, 2012 (331 days). I am not questioning this decision.

Since my return in July 2012 I have continuous residence in the US will all proofs etc and I have only had 5 to 6 trips outside the US and the longest being 22 days only. Total trip days add up to 100 days only. I have met the continuous and physical presence requirements. I read that the 4yr 1d rule only applies to people with trips over 1 year. Can I apply in Aug 2016 or do I need to wait for 5 years (minus 90 days) from my return in July 2012?

Asked on 2/06/16, 7:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rahul Manchanda, Esq. Manchanda Law Office PLLC

Please call me at (800) 750-1828. Kind regards, RDM

Read more
Answered on 2/12/16, 11:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Washington