Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Washington

my mother and sister shared a joint checking account...they both passed away in December, first my sister and then my mother. The bank determined that through the death benefit that the proceeds of the account were the sole property of my mother's estate. I am her executor, so the bank issued the funds to me and closed the account. My sister had a will that was made up after the creation of the joint bank account. In it is a statement that says if she added any names to any accounts etc, it was strictly as a convenience with express understanding that all assets be distributed per this will. Her executor and his lawyer are telling me that I have no right to the proceeds from the joint account, and must return them. Are they correct?

Asked on 2/15/18, 6:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Cruikshank Cruikshank Law Office-Since 1975

It all depends on the evidence and your summary of it is not sufficient. Review of all of the documents by an experienced lawyer is necessary.

Read more
Answered on 2/15/18, 9:10 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Washington