India  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 6/16/13, 2:28 am

Me and my brother relinquished(registered) our right in favor of our father of our property.my father gifted property to me via gift(registered) (non-ancestral property).

I want to sell the house in which i and my brother live.

1.We have been living in that house for 15 years does it amounts to adverse possesion in my brother favor. The gift was made 3 years back.

2.Does his staying in that house amount to any type of possesion.

2.Can i evict him from house as im absolute owner of that house to sell it.

3 Answers


Answered on: 6/16/13, 3:40 am by Fca Prashant Chavan

16.06.2013

Dear Sir / Madam,

1. Since you are also residing in the same house, no adverse possession is created.

2. No.

3. Yes.

Regards,


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Expert Edge LLP prashant.pscl07@gmail.com "always A Step Ahead", Mumbai 52

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/16/13, 11:37 pm by Yash Kumar

Dear Sir,

In response to your query I have to advice you as under:-

1. There can be no Adverse Possession in favour of your brother as the same is available only to the trespassers.

2. No, he can only be treated as Licensee and nothing more.

3. Yes, you can evict him from your residence.

Thanks


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Yash Kumar & Co. Ch. No. E-708, Lawyer's Chambers, Karkarduma Court Delhi. mobile no. 8750228171, 1100092

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 6/17/13, 12:44 am by KarVai Legal Solutions

firstly, you need to file a suit for possession against your brother and only after you legally evict him from the premises, you can sell it off. you have obtained the ownership of the property by way of gift deed but possession of half of portion is still with the brother.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Rajiv Gupta 9811284735 Ch.No: 359, Western Wing, Tis Hazari, Delhi www.karvai.in Email: karvailegal@yahoo.com Delhi District Courts, High Courts, Supreme Court Delhi, 110001

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search