California  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/13/13, 11:28 pm

What would a GOOD lawyer do if at the early disposition the procecution was not ready with the discovery and put a new DA on the case who petitions for a 40 day continuance ?

5 Answers


Answered on: 7/13/13, 11:30 pm by Joshua Hale

Either demand speedy trial. Or allow the continuance.

Not the answer your looking for. But likely exactly what your attorney has done.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Hale Law Group 4630 Border Village Rd. N171 San Ysidro, CA 92173

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/14/13, 1:08 am by Zadik Shapiro

I agree with Mr. Hale. But you have not told us what the charges are and whether the defendant is in custody. You should know that the situation you describe is not uncommon and objecting to a continuance won't do much good because the court is going to grant it anyway. If the lawyer objects the judge will be upset with the lawyer and it can only hurt the defendant,


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/14/13, 1:08 am by Zadik Shapiro

I agree with Mr. Hale. But you have not told us what the charges are and whether the defendant is in custody. You should know that the situation you describe is not uncommon and objecting to a continuance won't do much good because the court is going to grant it anyway. If the lawyer objects the judge will be upset with the lawyer and it can only hurt the defendant,


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of C. Zadik Shapiro 15 Boardman Pl. San Francisco, CA 94103

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/15/13, 12:32 am by Terry A. Nelson

Ask for dismissal, and when that is likely denied by the judge, then deal with the continuance and handle the case 'as normal'. If legitimately not happy with current counsel, and if serious about hiring new counsel to help in this, feel free to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/20/13, 10:39 pm by John Laurie

I like Mr Nelsons answer the best


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search