California  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
8/19/09, 3:18 pm

Legal Question


A member at a California Semi-Private Country Club in disputing a dress code that requires all men on the golf course to tuck-in their shirts. He does not want to tuck in his shirt, although it is standard club policy, and is siting the Unruh Act as grounds to not do so. He says that since ladies may wear a finished un-tucked shirt it is sexual discrimination. Is he correct? Can a Country Club legally require a member to tuck in their shirt on the golf course?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search