California  |  DUI Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/16/13, 2:13 pm

Is jail time mandatory for someone who was 3 times the legal limit, crashed into 3 parked cars and is still on probation for first DUI in CA?

3 Answers


Answered on: 8/16/13, 2:25 pm by John Laurie

You need a good attorney as from what you say I would expect jail time.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/16/13, 3:26 pm by Joe Dane

Yes, there is a mandatory minimum. However, if this occurred in Orange County, the prosecutor is definitely going to push for more than just the mandatory minimum. The probation violation, collision(s) and the high blood alcohol level will definitely factor in.

However - there can be alternatives to serving actual jail time. Rehab or house arrest are possible alternatives.

If this happened recently, you only have 10 days to contact they DMV to schedule a hearing or they'll suspend your license for a year based on the second DUI and the probation DUI.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Joe Dane 850 E. Chapman Ave., Suite C Orange, CA 92866

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/16/13, 11:12 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Nothing is 'mandatory' unless convicted, but "likely" is a word you should get used to. If serious about hiring counsel to try to help keep you out of jail, feel free to contact me. I've been doing these cases for many years.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

125 Answers given in the last few hours.

8663 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search