Is jail time mandatory for someone who was 3 times the legal limit, crashed into 3 parked cars and is still on probation for first DUI in CA?
3 Answers from Attorneys
You need a good attorney as from what you say I would expect jail time.
Yes, there is a mandatory minimum. However, if this occurred in Orange County, the prosecutor is definitely going to push for more than just the mandatory minimum. The probation violation, collision(s) and the high blood alcohol level will definitely factor in.
However - there can be alternatives to serving actual jail time. Rehab or house arrest are possible alternatives.
If this happened recently, you only have 10 days to contact they DMV to schedule a hearing or they'll suspend your license for a year based on the second DUI and the probation DUI.
Nothing is 'mandatory' unless convicted, but "likely" is a word you should get used to. If serious about hiring counsel to try to help keep you out of jail, feel free to contact me. I've been doing these cases for many years.
Related Questions & Answers
My friend was arrested in California for DUI and driving on suspended license in... Asked 8/13/13, 6:26 pm in United States California Drunk Driving & DUI Law
Hello, I am a 17 year old driver who was rear ended by a drunk driver. Some mistakes... Asked 7/21/13, 3:33 pm in United States California Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I have been pondering my outcomes and loosing sleep. I would like the best advice... Asked 7/17/13, 11:06 pm in United States California Drunk Driving & DUI Law
My x girlfriend knew my GPS location called police telling them I'm on drugs !!... Asked 7/14/13, 3:08 pm in United States California Drunk Driving & DUI Law
I was charged with DUI in Arizona on 6/23/13 and received an Admin Per Se stating... Asked 7/12/13, 4:05 pm in United States California Drunk Driving & DUI Law