California  |  Employment Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 3/08/13, 11:48 am

employer submited for my last pay check a check from a diffrent named llc that was a cancelled ca llc (2010) and had NSF. Then claims he is not resbonsible . this is not the first time he hides behind llc , is this a crime.

3 Answers


Answered on: 3/08/13, 11:55 am by Charles Perry

Your employer is responsible for your pay check, regardless of whether he uses an LLC, a corporation, or some other entity. If the individual is indeed your employer, then he is liable.

Knowingly writing a bad check can be a crime under Penal Code Section, if the person writing the check intended to defraud someone.

Your best remedy is before the labor commissioner or small claims court, instead of criminal action. Since this is a final paycheck, you will be entitled to waiting penalties under the CA Labor code.

Best of luck to you.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/08/13, 12:48 pm by Terry A. Nelson

Take your facts to the Labor Commission and file an unpaid compensation claim, seeking the money owed, interest and penalties.

Take the check to the police and try to get them to pursue it.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Nelson & Lawless 18685 Main St., #175 Huntington Beach, CA 92648

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 3/08/13, 1:14 pm by Alden Knisbacher

The owner could also be personally liable. If he is not paying you on time, is he also not paying overtime, breaks, etc?


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Knisbacher Law Offices 220 Montgomery Street, Suite 961 San Francisco, CA 94104

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search