Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in California

Landlord discarded my property (electronics) the day I turned in my key. I called hours after leaving and requested they hold it, but they claim maintenance threw it out. Any recourse?

Asked on 6/15/13, 9:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Brian Rosales Harris, Rosales & harris
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

The landlord cannot immediatley dispose of personal property upon a tenant's move out. You can sue him for the value of the property.

Read more
7/01/13, 10:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in California

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8822 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now