California  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
11/25/97, 1:58 pm

Legal Question


Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. direct victim claim

my mom was killed while crossing the street in crosswalk by an uninsured motorist who is being charged with involuntary mans. my dad was walking with her, witnessed the accident, and infact was hit or rather scraped by the car in question. had he not crouched forward at the very last second, he would have been killed also. my dad's insurance co, state farm, has tendered the policy limit on the wrongful death. now we are pursuing a dillon v. legg claim against state farm for his own injury. since he was struck by the vehicle, he has both a bystander claim and a direct victim claim. can you discuss the difference between the two claims ? my dad is from the old country, does not believe in mental helth counseling i.e. damages will be difficult to prove altho he has suffered a terrible loss. is there an advantage of filing a direct victim claim as opposed to a bystander claim ? i hear the level of proof required for direct victim claim is not as severe as it is for a bystander claim (fear of fraudulent claims).is it true ?


Car Accidents

We can help if you were hurt in a car accident.
My email address is RoyKohler.com

We work on a contingency fee basis. We don't get paid until we win.

Feel free to call me at (619) 442-0042

Roy Kohler
Attorney at Law

RoyKohler.com


Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search

 


Translated Question

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Italiano

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Chinese (Simplified)

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Chinese (Traditional)

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Deutsch

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in French

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Spanish

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Japanese

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Arabic

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Russian

flags Dillon v. Legg/Emotional Distress claim / bystander v. dire in Hebrew