California  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 8/08/13, 12:25 pm

1. In probate court, when the attorney's fees are 33-40% of the inheritance won, is this amount of the inheritance get figured when the decedent first dies, or when the case is closed? In my case, my dad died 15 years ago, and his estate has almost quadrupled.

2. Is there a time limit of when the attorneys can collect fees from the client?

3. Can the attorneys take a person's house, or income, if the court rules that the opposing party doesn't have to pay anything? (Even though the opposing party was found to have undue influence, was removed by the court as trustee, was found to have written a fraudulent amendment that the court eventually voided, but was said to not have bad faith, if you can believe that.)

2 Answers


Answered on: 8/08/13, 12:37 pm by Victor Waid

Your questions all appear to revolve around a probate/trust litigation, and the answers to your questions would be governed by the attorney fee contract you entered into regarding your representation by the attorney or firm. You are advised to consult another attorney, experienced with probate litigation,other than the one representing you, to interpret the contract provisions as they apply in your particular matter.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Victor Waid 777 Campus Commons Rd., Suite 200 Sacramento, CA 95825

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 8/08/13, 2:53 pm by Charles Perry

Contingency fees are generally calculated on the amount recovered on behalf of the client. Mr. Wald is correct, however, in that the terms of your fee agreement are controlling here.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Charles R. Perry 1500 Bayberry Street Hollister, 95023

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search