If your 17 driving after 1.00 am and run a stop sign and kill a women and her unborn child what charges could you face you havent been arrested even though the police said you werent allowed to drive at this hour
3 Answers from Attorneys
You will probably face at least one count of vehicular manslaughter. The curfew issue may be an aggravating factor but unlikely an additional charge and even if it was the more serious manslaughter charge is the big worry. Get an attorney immediately if you haven't done so already.
Well the highest level offense would be vehicular homicide (unless there was some indication he was impaired by drugs or alcohol which is not indicated in the question) or manslaughter by culpable negligence. There are also potential charges for reckless driving causing death or serious bodily injury. And at a minimum a civil citation for failure to obey a traffic control device or violation of DL restrictions. I do not believe driving outside of the permitted time frame (which is possibly an unconstitutional restriction) and causing an accident alone would give rise to a criminal offense without additional
If the only thing that happened was the running of the stop sign, then there is a good chance this would be seen a civil negligence. In which case the behavior of both parties will be a factor.
Mind you this is almost all speculation as there is not a lot of detail in this question.
A charge of vehicular manslaughter would be an appropriate charge for the death of the woman. The 17 year old would be charged as an adult because traffic related criminal offenses (such as DUI or driving while license suspended, as examples) are all presumed to be adult activities. This 17 year old would be facing prison and would need an attorney.
Related Questions & Answers
I am a resident of Florida. Got arrested and charged for a violation while visiting... Asked 7/16/13, 10:44 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
I have a friend with a 4 month old baby living in Broward County Florida. She was... Asked 7/16/13, 7:01 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
Florida State Law question: Legal question: A false police report was filed in 1993... Asked 7/14/13, 12:42 pm in United States Florida Criminal Law
A young man drove towards me at ~25 MPH coming less than 3 feet from me with his car... Asked 7/13/13, 11:34 am in United States Florida Criminal Law
In a criminal case, how long does the prosecution have to turn over discovery in the... Asked 7/13/13, 1:55 am in United States Florida Criminal Law