Florida  |  Immigration Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/23/13, 10:57 am

My daughter met a boy in High School and has been dating him for about 1.5 yrs now. His parents brought him here about 4 yrs ago from Columbia got him enrolled in H.S.(hows does that even happen) and they all never went back. They both just grad. from HS. My daughter is going to college and the boy friend wants to be able to attend college also. His parents have very little money and just tell him to wait for the laws to change or get married (over my dead body)Hes a nice enough kid got all A's in HS but has no license, no job. From what I read its a Felony. Is there anything he can do to begin to change his status or how should he begin.....

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/23/13, 11:07 am by Natalie Hall

He may try for a Deferred Action filing. This will allow him to remain here and work. It does not grant a a green card or make his presence here any more lawful but at least he will be able to lawfully work and he may have an easier time with enrolling in and attending college.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Natalie D. Hall, P.A. 2816 East Robinson Street Orlando, FL 32803

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/23/13, 11:21 am by ANUJ SHARMA, ESQ.

He is eligible for DACA filing and may legalize and be able to work.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


A SHARMA LAW FIRM, PLLC 116-14, 101ST AVENUE Richmond Hill, NY 11419

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/23/13, 12:58 pm by Rebecca White

DACA may be an option for him to explore. I am not sure what sort of felony you are referring to however. If he has criminal issues in his past that will be an issue.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Rebecca White Seattle, WA 98154

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search