Florida  |  Wills and Trusts

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/17/12, 6:52 pm

My dads revocable trust included his condo in Jupiter. We are required to have Hurricane insurance since its on the beach. When I tried to renew the policy, Universal Property insurance company refused, saying the owner was deceased. Doesn't the "trust" own the condo, and my sister and I are the trustees...meaning we are the owners? They said I would have to have the deed redone. Please advise if they are correct. Thank you

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/17/12, 7:01 pm by Richard Kaplan

You need to take all of the documents to a qualified attorney to review and advise what is required. Without examining what has happened, any advice would be mostly an educated guess.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney address not available

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/17/12, 7:09 pm by David Slater

If the title to the property (the deed) is in the name of the trust, it owns it. It can be insured. The carrier just may not want to cover property owned by a trust. Talk to your agent.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


David P. Slater, Esq. 5154 Windsor Parke Dr. Boca Raton, FL 33496

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/18/12, 8:22 am by Lucreita Becude

I am with Mr. Slater - suggest you find a company that is willing to insure the condo in the trust name.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lucreita D. Becude, P.A. 12469 Antler Hill Drive, N Jacksonville, FL 32224

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search