Georgia  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/23/13, 2:56 pm

What is the law for smoking pot in a hotel room? Can management walk into the room and confiscate parafanila without guest present? And..Can management charge $200 for smoking in a non-smoking room?

3 Answers


Answered on: 4/23/13, 3:01 pm by Scott Riddle

The law is that you can be arrested and taken to jail for smoking pot in Georgia. It seems you got off light, Yes, virtually all hotels have stiff penalties for smoking in non-smoking rooms and most likely you can read it in the terms and conditions you agreed to by staying there. There are consequences to your actions.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Office of Scott B. Riddle, LLC Suite 1530 Tower Place, 3340 Peachtree Road Atlanta, GA 30326

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/23/13, 3:02 pm by Lawrence Lewis

Management can just walk in when you are smoking in a non-smoking room. Management can charge additional fee. Management can seize contraband and contact police. See website for info on retaining the right attorney: http://www.lawrencelewispc.com/pages.php?go=pinfo&PID=38

Good luck


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Lawrence Lewis, P.C. 242 Culver Street, Suite 103 Lawrenceville, GA 30045

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/23/13, 3:32 pm by Glen Ashman

Management can walk into the room, and you're lucky, since you could have faced jail, fines and license suspension, that all that happened was the $200 charge that they certainly can impose on you. If you want to be really foolish, keep complaining and you may end up jailed when they make a police report.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Ashman Law Office 2791 Main Street EAST POINT Atlanta, GA 30344

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

81 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search