Legal Question in Employment Law in Iowa

Can I get fired for filing an OHSA complaint due to safety reasons at my work place. I currently started a position as a maintenance manager and noticed there is over 75 safety violations in the plant. I have discussed them with the plant manager about when we can address these issues. I tried to do a professional approach that didn't not go over well. I have since been concerned for all of the employees that I filed an online complaint with OHSA. I am still with in my 90 days of hire but could not stand to wait any longer because of all of the safety issues. I gave up a very good paying job to try to better myself and do not want to lose my job because I care about the people who work there. If I am terminated is there any way for lost wages due to retaliation? I am not after money but if I get fired because I care about peoples safety I think the company should compensate me for my lost in employment or legal term (wrongful termination).

Asked on 9/17/13, 4:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Luedeman solo practitioner
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

That sounds like a question you should put to the office of the labor commissioner.

Read more
9/22/13, 9:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Iowa

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88283 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now