if you were in a realationship with a minor for 2 years and the parent of the minor knew about it and approved in the begging. could the parent still press statutory rape charges 2 years later?
1 Answer from Attorneys
First of all, no parents nor any other private person can "press charges." Only the State can file charges by typing up an information and filing it with the court clerk. The parents could certainly make a police report and be within the statute of limitations for indecent liberties with a child and rape. There is no crime in Kansas called Statutory Rape.
However, being "in a relationship" with a "minor" is not illegal. Not sure what you mean "in a relationship" and "minor." In Kansas, consensual SEX with a girl 13 and under is Rape. Consensual sex with a girl that 14 or 15 in Indecent Liberties. And consensual sex with a girl 16 or older is not a crime in Kansas.
Related Questions & Answers
Hi this past weekend I went home for the first time in 6 months, My boyfriend and I... Asked 9/10/12, 10:30 am in United States Kansas Criminal Law
I have a question concerning harassment. I've known a woman on and off for 6 years.... Asked 8/18/12, 1:54 pm in United States Kansas Criminal Law
Can you be sentenced for different cases at one time at one sentencing Asked 7/26/12, 1:13 am in United States Kansas Criminal Law
A couple weeks ago I was arrested for Possession of Marijuana and I told the cops... Asked 7/24/12, 7:58 am in United States Kansas Criminal Law
In the state of kansas a felony level theft is a theft of $500 or more,my mother... Asked 7/21/12, 1:53 am in United States Kansas Criminal Law