Louisiana  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
10/27/09, 7:32 pm

Legal Question


My husband passed away last December. In 2005 we divided the land and gave half to oldest daugther and donated the other half to youngest daughter. The attorney came to our house for us to sign the final donation papers because my husband was sick. The attorney took the papers back to her office and had her two secretaries to witness my husband's and my signature and we were not there in their presence. Before my husband's death we had trouble with my youngest daughter and her husband. They are trying to take my home and land from me because the attorney did not put in the papers giving me usufruct of the land. I hired an attorney in January and he sent her papers stating the donation papers were not any good. After receiving the papers my dauhter and husband went to a bank and borrowed $100,000 and used this land as collateral, bank did not do a title search. And she also leased the land to a nephew that did not get along with my husband. The attorney that drew the papers up admitted to my attorney she did wrong. My attorney told me I have a 50-50 % chance of losing my home. For some reason he is dragging his feet and I want this over with. At 64 years of age after working hard for this land I might lose it and I don't think its fair. I can not afford to hire another attorney and want to know your thoughts on this matter. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you, Patsy LaBorde


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search