Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Maryland

Section 547 preferences

Do the preference rules only apply to actual payments made w/in 90 days prior to the bankruptcy filing or can unpaid judgments be set aside and made part of the debt dealt with in the actual bankruptcy proceeding?

Asked on 7/17/09, 8:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Section 547 preferences

A judgment lien is a transfer of property, and thus falls within the scope of Section 547.

Read more
Answered on 7/17/09, 9:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Maryland

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88403 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now