Maryland | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
A co-worker of mine makes inappropriate actions towards me(verbal and physical), I was wondering what actions do I need to take to attempt to remedy the situation before a lawsuit is justified?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Sean T. Morris |
You should report these actions to your supervisor (assuming it is not your supervisor engaging in the inappropriate activity -- if that is the case, report it to his supervisor or someone else in a position of authority). If your superiors do not take action to remedy the situation within a reasonable time, and the activity continues, you may have grounds for a civil action against your employer.
If the individual co-worker is engaging in physical contact with you without your consent, there may be a basis for a criminal complaint.
Your best first step in either case is to report it to your superiors. They are likely in the best position to take the action necessary to stop this behavior.
Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Cook Legal Services, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1845
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Attorney at Law
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 1010
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-13
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
The Pishevar Law Firm, P.C.
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 100
Last Question Aswered on: 2006-08-07
Law Office of Adele L. Abrams PC
Beltsville, MD
Questions Answered: 70
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-05-31
Law offices of Raymond Carignan,Chartered
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 65
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Akin-Deko & Puig PLLC
Washington Dc, DC
Questions Answered: 46
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
The Gbenjo Law Group
Houston, TX
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-23
Search Questions and Answers


