Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Minnesota

I filed chapter 7.

One of the creditors I owe 13000. It is a treatment center.

My ins company sent me a 8600 check for the bill because the treatment center is out of network.

The check was made out to only me and had the claim number on it. I received this check after I filed chapter 7.

The creditor is harassing me saying that failure to hand over the check is insurance fraud and that they will sue me. I only still have this check because I am in the middle of bankruptcy.

My meeting of creditors was 6/17.

Is this insurance fraud? And it is legal for this creditor to even contact me being I have filed chapter 7?

I live in Minnesota. The treatment center is in Michigan.

Asked on 7/16/13, 8:57 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sam Calvert Calvert Law Office
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You need to discuss this with your bankruptcy attorney, who in turn will likely involve the trustee in the discussion.

Read more
7/16/13, 1:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Minnesota

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now