Legal Question in Civil Rights Law in Missouri

Can a car rental agency press charges of theft on me when the car was returned the day same day that i had informed them it would be I was a few hours late and did contact them and leave a message informing him I would be keeping it two more days prior and the Lady I talked to said she noted it and would charge me another 225.00 total for both days I had it longer and the day I turned it in he said I owed 600 more instead and they have also taken the original amount I owed out of my account as of the 14 th of Oct. So they have the car and the money and said they pressed charges and wont drop them until I pay the other 600 I owe even though I've tried to make payment arrangements for the rest they also refuse to give my sisters college books back is this legal ?

Asked on 10/17/13, 1:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Anthony Smith LawSmith
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

That cannot keep the books without suffering civil liability. As far as the $600, it depends upon the wording of the lessee agreement.

Good luck

Read more
Answered on 10/19/13, 12:43 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Civil Rights Law questions and answers in Missouri

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Civil Rights Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now