Missouri  |  Personal Injury

Legal Question

Asked on: 5/15/09, 9:46 pm

Broken Leg at Shopping Mall

I slipped on an icy sidewalk at a mall in Missouri in December of 2007. My leg was broken in several places and required surgery and extensive recovery. I am still experiencing pain and limited movement. Is the mall responsible for the maintenance of the sidewalk and if so, can I recover medical expenses?

3 Answers


Answered on: 5/16/09, 12:34 am by Mark Hanks

Re: Broken Leg at Shopping Mall

The mall likely has some liability for your fall, depending on where the sidewalk was located, when you fell (the closer to a mall entrance, the better). If they had a duty to salt or remove the ice, and did not, there would be liability. You would also have some duty to exercise extra caution, given that you were aware of the icy conditions, so you could not have been texting or talking on.a cell phone, when you fell. It sounds like your injuries would warrant an investigation of your case. Contact me, if you are interested.

Mark Hanks

Attorney Hanks PA

St. Petersburg


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Attorney Hanks, P.A. 8601 Fourth Street North, Suite 303 St. Petersburg, FL 33702

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/17/09, 10:29 am by Jeffrey Carey

Re: Broken Leg at Shopping Mall

There are different parties that may be responsible. In general, a business establishment in Missouri has a duty to make their property reasonably safe or to warn of known dangers. You may very well have a claim against the mall or third parties that cannot be identified by your post.

You can get more information at my website at:

careypersonalinjury.com/practiceareas/injuriesfromfall.html

If I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Carey Law Firm, LLC 229 SE Douglas Street Lee's summit, MO 64063

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 5/16/09, 2:52 pm by Alan Wagner

Re: Broken Leg at Shopping Mall

Same response as before. depends on showing knowledge of the condition.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Wagner, Vaughan & McLaughlin, P.A. 601 Bayshore Boulevard; Suite 910 Tampa, FL 33606

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

115 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search