Nevada | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Should i wait to buy a car before or after i file bankruptcy?
Legal Answers
|
Read More Answered By: Jeffrey Cogan |
You should do it before. If you buy a car before and the creditor does not make you sign an agreement saying that you owe the money despite filing bankruptcy, if you default, they cannot go after you because it was included in the bankruptcy. Plus, your credit score will be higher without the bankruptcy. |
|
Read More Answered By: Dorothy Bunce |
I disagree with Jeff. Whether you should buy a car before or after you file for Bankruptcy depends on your particular circumstances.
If your credit is already bad, any financing will be at a very high rate before you file Bankruptcy. If you buy the car before the bankruptcy, the lender will not usually report the payments to the credit bureau to help you re-establish your credit. Many vehicle finance companies will also insist that you sign a "reaffirmation agreement" as a condition of keeping the car.
Although filing Bankruptcy initially damages your credit, many lenders will offer second chance financing at a better interest rate after you file a Bankruptcy. I help my clients rebuild their credit after the bankruptcy is over with information on how to increase their credit score.
If you purchase the car after the bankruptcy is over, making the payments on time will also help you to rebuild your credit and increase your credit score
In some instances, I do recommend buying the car before filing, particularly for higher income clients who need additional deductions to qualify to file Bankruptcy. But each case needs to be examined based on the specific circumstances of the client. This is a question you should discuss with the attorney you hire to represent you. |
Top Attorneys in NV
James E. Smith Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Malikowski Law Offices, Ltd.
Reno, NV
Questions Answered: 365
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-23
A Fresh Start
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 330
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-06
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Black & Lobello
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 286
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-11-16
Law Offices of Keith Knochel
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 145
Last Question Aswered on: 2004-06-25
Law Offices of Jeffrey A. Cogan, Chartered
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 109
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-02-27
John Peter Lee, Ltd.
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 78
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Offices of Robert A .Grayson
Carson City, NV
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-09-11
Joseph A. Scalia & Associates
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 28
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-11-05
Search Questions and Answers


