Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Nevada

My sister lived with our mom for over 9 years prior to our mom’s death in November 2012. She had no income and did not work. She stayed until 8/31/13 when she left because she was unable to pay over $1000 in utility bills she had run up in Mom's name. When she moved out she left personal property in a bedroom behind a locked door. She has not picked it up or given a date when she will. Can we serve her “Abandonment of Property” to have the property removed in 14 days or remove it ourselves? I have someone in the home paying the bills until the court releases it for sale and they can purchase it. What are their rights?

Asked on 10/02/13, 2:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

James Smith James E. Smith Ltd.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

You should give her 30 days written notice. Then remove it. Give her another 30 days written notice to pick it up or your will give it to charity.

Read more
10/02/13, 3:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Nevada

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now