New Jersey  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
5/14/01, 10:58 am

Legal Question


statute of limitations

I recieved a notice from collection company requarding a debt they claim I owe to GPU Energy. This is the first I heard of it. They claim it is from 5/3/95. I no longer have those records. I only keep records for 3 years. but I don't believe I owe it since I have always paid my electric and never had it shut off. How can they get away with this? Can they really wait 6 years to collect without sending me proof?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search