Hello i have a question about something that happened recently. My brother got beat up with bricks, a pole, and nunchucks. The police charged the person who did that with disorderly conduct and aggravated assult? is that enough charges. i want that person to pay for what he did because my brother got a fractured skull and he had to go thru surgery. He lost his memory. and the person who did that was about 13-15 years old. please answer my question as soon as you can. please.
1 Answer from Attorneys
The determination of what and how many criminal charges to be filed is up to the District Attorney and based on the facts provided by the law enforcement officers and witnesses involved in the altercation. Based on the facts you've presented, it seems like there may be some issues regarding the alleged defendant(s) age. A person between 13 to 15 years of age is considered a juvenile in the state of New Mexico. The process for prosecuting a juvenile delinquent differs greatly from normal prosecution of an adult defendant.
Related Questions & Answers
Will it ever be possible to go rifle hunting again if you have ever been convicted... Asked 3/28/13, 2:01 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
If you've been in jail 6 days without an arraignment do they have to let you go he's... Asked 3/19/13, 8:45 am in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
Can a person who stole money from their employer but paid it back after discovery... Asked 3/06/13, 11:51 am in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
How do I remove a Nolle prosequie from my record? I was arrested on 10/18/2010 for... Asked 2/19/13, 12:17 pm in United States New Mexico Criminal Law
Ok so here is my question i recently broke up with my fiance turns out after a week... Asked 1/31/13, 10:23 am in United States New Mexico Criminal Law