Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I am in collections with an agency. I received a information subpoena from them. But also in the letter they sent me was a letter from another one of their clients. It has has their information on it. Their name, address, who they owe to, and how much they owe. Is this a FDCPA violation because I have this information and it is not me. What can I do. Can I use this as leverage with them. Can I contact the FTC and attorney general and report them.

Asked on 4/08/13, 3:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Guy Lewit Guy Mitchell Lewit, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I would say that YOU would not have any recourse by receiving some random information relating to another person.

Read more
Answered on 4/09/13, 11:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88423 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now