my son was driving his car in nyc,with 2 of his friends in the car with him,and since i was not there i can only go by what he told me,a truck cut him off and almost hit him so instead of just going about his business decided,that at 19 he will be stupid,in part showing off in front of his friends followed the truck a few blocks then at a red light got out and started challenging the truck driver to a fight,a police officer saw what was going on then after talking with everyone let the truck leave and gave my son 2 pink summonses 1 was for disco. 240.20(1) and the other was harassment 240.26(1)
he has never been in trouble with the police before and this was a one time thing,at least i hope he learned from it,but what kind of trouble will he in as far as fines,jail,sentence if found guilty?also what kind of fees would a attorney ask for on something like this?i am not really able to afford much at this time,would he qualify for a attorney through the court on a case like this
3 Answers from Attorneys
I would be happy to answer all of your questions. Please contact my office 27188340087 for a free phone consultation. My experience with these sort of cases is that they are resolved with either an ACD or a violation with a small fineand under either case no criminal record.
You should not expect jail time, but it would be highly recommended to have an experienced lawyer with you defending him and preserving hisrights in court. It would also greatly increase the chance of lowering the charges or possible dismissal. We have substantial experience handling these types of cases and reasonable fees, however, we would need some more information before making a complete and proper determination. You are welcome to contact us for a free consultation.
Law Offices of
STEVEN J. CZIK, P.C.
101 Avenue of the Americas, 15th Floor
New York, New York 10013
The information provided by The Law Offices of Steven J. Czik, P.C. (LOSJC) is for general educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. LOSJC is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and LOSJC have signed a written retainer agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain LOSJC on terms acceptable to LOSJC, you are advised to immediately seek the services of another attorney.
these are not crimes to begin with so as a first offender, he will probably get a quick ACD, meaning a delayed dismissal. An attorney will probably charge from $750 to $1,500.
Related Questions & Answers
I have a drug charge from 6 years ago and now they want to put me in jail can they... Asked 8/20/10, 1:04 pm in United States New York Criminal Law
Are deals offered by the DA indicative of what the outcome will be? For example if... Asked 8/19/10, 7:21 am in United States New York Criminal Law
Can u represent yourself in court if you choose to because the legal aide isnt doing... Asked 8/18/10, 10:45 pm in United States New York Criminal Law
What can be done aginst a local judge that rucused her self from a case then about a... Asked 8/18/10, 1:35 pm in United States New York Criminal Law
I have been falsey accused of a crime, my job is asking me for a statement as to... Asked 8/17/10, 8:26 pm in United States New York Criminal Law