Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

Going to a Home Owner's Association meeting tomorrow and want to verify some facts.

Question: In New York State do Home Owner's Associations have to comply with;

A) Freedom of Information Law

B) Open Meeting Law

C) If a older president resigned from the Board in the middle of his term and a new one was elected to take his place, is that person there for the remainder on the original term or has a full 3 year term to complete.

Also Trying to decide on the proper word for what the association did .... The Board send a memo claiming the city building inspector is "requiring" work done, when in fact he didn't. What is that called

Asked on 10/06/13, 5:10 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kevin Connolly Kevin J. Connolly
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

A, no, it's not a government unit.

B, no, same reason

C, I would need to see the by-laws

The word is "lying."

Read more
Answered on 10/07/13, 9:41 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88953 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Real Estate and Real Property Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Rahul Manchanda, Esq.Manchanda Law Office PLLCNew York, NY
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now