Legal Question in Employment Law in North Carolina

i was working for an job, that upgraded my position my new duties required me to get a cdl drivers license by a certain date. I didn't make the deadline because my son had been very sick and i was out of work on fmla. when i returned to work my director gave me an extra 30 days to get my cdl she also ask my supervisor to give me all the contact info for the cdl instructor, my supervisor stalled for about 2 weeks, when i ask him for the information he told me that he would set up the appointment, so i lost out on two week. On the second week i was in a car accident that tore my labrum so i was out of work for physical therapy,i contacted my supervisor to let him know what was going on thats when he told me to keep in contact, a week later he called and ask if i could come in and to get my cdl i told him no because i was on a lot of meds and i couldnt drive, he stilled wanted me to not go by my doctors rules. a month later they fired me for failure to get a cdl, which i would say was the department fault because he clearly avoided the directors directive to give me the contact information, if he would so i would have gad my cdl within two weeks before the car accident. My supervisor only did this to me because a couple months earlier i filed a claim against him and another employee for flma violations which got the other employee in trouble. does this sound like a case of discrimination and can i sue.

Asked on 9/18/13, 11:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Speak to an employment discrimination attorney...this is a very difficult matter.

Read more
9/19/13, 5:34 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in North Carolina

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88263 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now