Oregon | Personal Injury
Legal Question
My wife recently got in an auto accident. She was waiting at a red left turn signal to turn left onto a main road. Her light turned green and as she pulled left into the intersection another woman ran the red light and hit the front left corner of my wife's car and totalled it. There were witnesses, but no one stuck around for the police to talk to and as this was my wife's first accident she did not think to ask them for their numbers. The woman that hit my wife accepted fault for the accident at the scene and claimed, in the presence of the police, that my wife should not worry and that her (the other woman's) insurance would take care of everything. The cop wrote her a ticket for running the red light and everyone went home.
Now the other woman is claiming that she had a yellow light, that my wife is in fact the one who rand the red light, and her insurance is denying our claim. What can we do to get this sorted out right?


