Legal Question in DUI Law in Pennsylvania

Concerning Pennsylvania law specifically. I know the 'common sense' and spirit of the law answer to this question, but _technically_, is there a chargeable offense for driver or passenger (supervisor) in this situation:

16 year old driver has learners permit, and is operating the vehicle. Supervising parent is in passenger seat, alert, but with a BAC over the legal limit allowed if they were driving.

For reference, I'm looking at:

3802. Driving under influence...

(a) General impairment.--

(1) An individual may not ___drive, operate or be in actual physical

control of the movement of a vehicle__ after imbibing


1505. Learners' permits.

(no verbiage regarding impairment of supervising, licensed driver)

Asked on 8/01/13, 6:27 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Thomas Kenny Law Offices of Thomas D. Kenny, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably not dui however ewoc could be charged. Endangering the welfare of a child.

Read more
Answered on 8/01/13, 6:33 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Drunk Driving & DUI Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now