Legal Question in Criminal Law in Texas

can i get in trouble for dating a minor if i have parental consent and no sexual contact has ever been made? i live in texas im 19 we both have parental consent i gave her a promise ring for when we get married.

Asked on 6/23/13, 4:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No sexual contact under age 17 except that it is a defense if the parties are within 3 years of age of each other. No laws violated by dating.

Read more
Answered on 6/25/13, 1:28 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now