Legal Question in Personal Injury in Texas

A waitress employed at Defendant’s restaurant spills hot coffee on the Plaintiff’s lap, resulting in first-degree burns. When plaintiff jumps up, she strikes her knee on an adjoining stool, requiring her leg to be put in a cast. Because of her obesity and neurotic anxiety, plaintiff is disabled for 8 months. If the normal recovery time is 1 to 2 weeks, should defendant be held liable for the full extent of damages?

Asked on 3/05/13, 8:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ken Gober (Austin TX) Lee, Gober & Reyna
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

This sounds like a law school question. There are two primary issues: proximate cause and the egg shell plaintiff rule.

I am happy to speak with the injured party to discuss recovery.

Read more
3/05/13, 8:58 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Personal Injury Law and Tort Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88122 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Personal Injury Law and Tort Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now