Legal Question in Tax Law in Texas

My sister in Texas cashed an IRS refund check written to both her and her husband. She signed the check and printed her husband's name without his consent. Under the Texas law is this considered a falsification of a signature? Can she get in trouble for this?

Asked on 9/20/13, 9:03 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Cynthia Henley Cynthia Henley, Lawyer
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes - it is forgery to sign (whether cursive or print) another person's name. Now, if the check went into a joint account she didn't even need to sign it at all.

Read more
9/21/13, 9:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in Texas

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8787 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Tax and Taxation Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now