Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Virginia

Clarification of bankruptcy law

My wife declared bankruptcy in '97. She included the family house and I received a deed of gift for the house. I recently called to have her name removed from the deed, they claim she is still liable for the loan and that her bankruptcy does not protect her should I default on the the loan. Is this correct?

Asked on 6/04/01, 6:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Press Chung & Press, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Clarification of bankruptcy law

That is not correct, provided she received a discharge and did not reaffirm the mortgage.

Read more
Answered on 6/28/01, 6:40 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now