Legal Question in Criminal Law in Virginia

I was in VA, and i am 21 years old. i did drink a little bit, but it was not a lot. I was at a party at my school one night a couple months ago, and one of my friends ran up to me telling me that my girlfriend was in the bathroom and something was wrong with her(a lot of pain and was even on the ground)and she told me to come help. so she hooked her arm in mines and ran towards the girls bathroom...when she went into the bathroom she still had her arm hooked with mines, but i let go as she went through the door and stopped out front.police thought i was going in the womens bathroom(supposedly they yelled to warn me, but the people around me and the girl i was hooked arms with said they didnt hear that)anyways i got cuffed and he asked me if i was drinking and i said "only a few shots"and they made me take a breathalyzer i blew into it and it didnt work and then i did it again and it still didnt work. i was taken to jail and never given another test, so the officers did not know how drunk i was and i never refused to take a test. Does this give me a good chance in court to fight?

Asked on 5/15/13, 11:02 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Yes, quite good (as long as you have, in my opinion, a competent criminal defense counsel to handle it) and don't plan on representing yourself in the matter.

Read more
5/19/13, 7:56 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88273 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now