Legal Question in Employment Law in Virginia

I was hired 3 months ago as an exempt 36 hour employee. (I do have this offer in writing.) I have been working hourly until the company opens, with the expectation of going on the promised salary once we open. Now my HR department is telling me that they are prohibited by wage and hour laws from actually paying me this way, saying instead that I must be a 40 hour exempt employee. Is this true?

Asked on 8/06/13, 9:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael E. Hendrickson Attorney & Counsellor at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No, probably, not.

Read more
Answered on 8/06/13, 10:20 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Virginia

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Labor and Employment Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now