Legal Question in Immigration Law in Washington

Can i gain American citizenship without my country knowing about it?

My country doesn't allow dual citizenship and I would be in risk of loosing my original citizenship if I were to gain any other citizenship on my own request. Would my country be informed by American government that I have gained American citizenship?

Asked on 2/19/13, 4:14 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Marlene Hemmings Marlene Hemmings, Attorney at Law
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I am unaware of the U.S. government informing a foreign government of a person naturalizing. I have had many clients with two passports, such as Iranian nationals.

Read more
Answered on 2/20/13, 10:09 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in Washington

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now