Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Florida

To Whom It May Concern

I am in disparate need of help and advice. Thank you in advance. A few weeks ago I received a letter from First National Collections advising me that a judgement had been issued against me from Bank of America in 2008 for $36,891.24. I have never had any business with BOA nor have I ever heard of this before. I never received any notice of judgement nor have I ever had a balance even close to that amount. A few days later I received another letter from “Negotiations” Department – no company name - stating they had “recently settled accounts with Bank of America, Citibank, JP Morgan, Chase, Wells Fargo, American Express, Capital One, Discover, HSBC, Target, GE Money. If you have an account with these or other lenders, you may be entitled to a settlement of your outstanding balance”. They show the credit balance to be $16,000. I am completely confused! I have never heard of either of these accounts or debts. Is this some sort of scam? Can they go after me for something that is not mine? How do I find out about a supposed judgement from 2008? How do I prove these are not mine? I am 66 years old and on Social Security. I lost my job in October and with all the chaos have not been able to find another. Can they do anything about these bogus charges? If I could afford an Attorney I would not even know where to begin or what type of Attorney I would need. I am scared to death that I have no information or input for this and worried they will take my house away. I married my best friend a couple years ago so I could have health insurance. We our friends – never have slept in the same room - can they go after him for the money? He is working but I have no Idea what he makes and is also worried about being laid off. I don’t know where to turn – I am scared to death! Please help!! I appreciate any help you can provide.

Asked on 8/18/20, 10:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Sounds like a scam to me.

Read more
Answered on 8/18/20, 11:26 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Florida