Legal Question in Family Law in Florida

I have a great niece who has been in foster care for almost 3 years. The foster parents were able to intervene but family came forward (we learned the child was in foster care almost 1 year after she was in the system, no one contacted blood relatives prior). I have been allowed to intervene in the case which is set for a final hearing in August. I have gone through the ICPC home study and ect (the child is in Texas and I am in Florida). The biological mother has also signed her parental rights over to me and DFPS is still the managing conservators. What is the likelihood that the judge will grant the child placement with me and after the 6 months I be allowed to legally adopt her?

Asked on 5/28/20, 7:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

The best interests of the child prevail. How is she doing in Foster Care?

Read more
Answered on 5/29/20, 9:00 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Florida