Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in Florida

My father told my brother & I he had changed his will in Jan 2019. In the will, he gave my new step-mother a life estate & all his collectibles, furniture & household goods. The remainder (real property both tangible & intangible) to my brother & I, share & share alike subject to the life estate of step-mother. The last 4-5 years, my father & I were purchasing LP & 45 records at yard sales & selling on eBay. All records were kept at his house for price look up & cleaning. Then given to me to list. We had 1000s of records together. I kept a list of records sold on eBay & a journal of our sales showing 50/50, down the line & PayPal proof reflecting split. My fathers concern at the time of the January will, was that step-mother got to keep his half of the records. I had taken photographs of everything in the house as well as the records. In May 2019, my father decided to sell his half of the records in order to help pay for his funeral expenses. The remaining half was mine. The day my father passed in June 2019, my step-mother & step-sister put up cameras in the house & changed the locks. I still had a few personal items left in the house along with my half of records. After my Dad’s funeral, I was advised I can no longer come in the house and for the last year have been refused to obtain my property. Step-mother states she has the life estate, she doesn’t have to inventory anything it is all hers to do with, including my personal property. What can I do?

Asked on 6/16/20, 2:33 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

If you have proof of your purchase, then you would have a legal claim for your 50%.

Read more
Answered on 6/16/20, 7:01 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in Florida