Legal Question in Family Law in Nebraska

legally married?

My neice married a man in Nebraska. She assumed she was legally married. It turns out he was already married in Wisconsin when she married him. According to Wisconsin, she is not legally married and does not need a divorce. Is that true in all 50 states or would she still be considered married in Nebraska and need a divorce from there?

Asked on 3/06/09, 1:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys


Re: legally married?

You need a Nebraska attorney to confirm there is nothing she needs to do in the event he eventually divorces that wife from Wisconsin.

Read more
Answered on 3/06/09, 3:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Nebraska