Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New Jersey

Is a landlord allowed to assess fees after a lease has been signed? For example, I am hearing through the apartment grapevine, once the activity center is completed all tenants will be accessed a monthly fee of $35.00. I am getting ready to sign a new lease and there is no such fee currently on the lease. It does say base rent can be increased at any time, but this would be an assessment. Thank you, Sarah

Asked on 5/13/18, 11:34 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Matthew Schutz Matthew R. Schutz, Esq.

If there is no provision in the lease for a fee then no.

Read more
Answered on 5/24/18, 7:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New Jersey